Duncan

When I think of a name of a Royal Navy war ship, Duncan is not really the first name that pops into my mind. Even saying “Duncan the Destroyer”, makes it sound a little bit cooler, but it’s still just Duncan. Please, Duncans that may be reading my blog, take no offence, but your name is a touch on the boring side.

What am I on about?

We those of you that Like me on Facebook, may have noticed my posts about the NATO Summit that was held over the 4th and 5th of September in Newport, Wales, how well it was organised and how much of an exciting opportunity it was. Unfortunately, I was office bound for the majority of the duration and got to miss anything that was really exciting. Luckily for me I had some spare time in the evening to visit Cardiff Bay. One location that was crawling in police officers expecting protests which didn’t quite materialise.

What was more of interest was the brand new, super high tech, type 42 destroyer, HMS Duncan that was docked during the summit. In difficult lighting situations, after pushing through masses of people and talking to a few friendly police officers I managed to get a few shots of the ship in all it’s glory. Though I did manage to capture no sense of scale with these photos.

 

HMS Duncan

What’s slightly disappointing is that it’s sister ship, I’m led to believe, is called HMS Dragon. Now that’s not a name you would want to mess with!

HMS Duncan

 

These photos aren’t likely to hang on any walls, but It’s a nice reminder of the excitement that spread through South Wales during this rare, and exciting occasion. 

Leave a comment