Catastrophic Creativity Calamity

Wow. It seems like ages since I’ve done anything with the camera! And been even longer since I’ve written anything. February. My North Wales trip to the Mach Loop. I’m upset with myself. Sorry guys! I’ve been in a bit of a slump.

If you’re following me over on Instagram (danwoosnam), you might have seen that I’ve uploaded some older photos. As well as reliving the memories, I think that’s really been me trying to rejuvenate my creative juices. My mojo has needed a real kick. I’d like to give you some believable, sob story excuse. But I can’t. I’ve become lazy.

I’ve made changes to my lifestyle that has rendered my usual shooting habits a distant memory.

Instead of visiting the gym after work, I’ve been getting there for 6 am (ish). Crazy right? It gives me a boost for the working day, and I really notice a difference when I miss a day, but as I’m training without any food in me, I don’t feel that I’m benefiting from it; because I’m trying to gain some muscle. But by the time I get home and spend some time with my daughter before she goes to bed, I’m lucky if I’m up past 10pm (tonight is the exception, I’ll feel this tomorrow!) – just when the sun has gone down and exposures are longer.

A few weeks ago, I was asked by my girlfriend’s dad if I’d pick him up from the airport… at half past midnight! I foolishly accepted. This would be a challenge for me to stay awake and alert enough to complete this mammoth task, but to help me in doing so, I threw my camera bag and tripod into the car and set off a little early in the hope of capturing some scenery.

Prior Planning Prevents Poor Performance

With thoughts of a late sunset in mind, I wasn’t really thinking ahead when I headed to the South Wales coast. The sun wasn’t out on the watery horizon. It was behind me, sliding slowly down behind the mountains in the distance. Failure number one.

Failure number two was not really thinking of a suitable location for the Thursday evening photoshoot. As I drove aimlessly around vaguely familiar roads, I found myself at one of Wales’ most famous sea side towns. Barry Island, affectionately known as Barrybados by some. The neon lights of the re-opened fun fair shone bright into the fading night sky. Taking advantage of the free parking and the lack of Gavin and Stacey fans, I stopped for a breath of fresh cool summer air and walked along the seafront.

I stopped to setup the camera. Aiming roughly in the direction of the sea, I fired off a few long exposures. The anticipation of what the results may be bubbled inside me and shortly fizzed away as the shutter clicked closed after 25 long seconds and the uninspiring images appeared on screen.

20160616-06-Barry-2634

Without wanting to venture closer to the sea, or get any sand in my shoes, I packed up and headed back to the car. Slightly disappointed and feeling sorry for myself, I continued my journey to the airport to complete the task ahead.

With ample alliteration for all, thanks for reading. Let me know in the comments if you’ve ever gone through a slump like this and what you’ve done to get out of it.

 

Leave a comment