The Beginning of Something Beautiful

Canon EOS 5D MkII, Canon EF 50mm f1.8 @ f1.8, ISO 3200

The sky was clear, the air had a chill in it, but I got out last night with the camera. I’ve been planning to set myself a photographic project for a while now, but nothing really inspired me. Until, for some peculiar reason, I thought of Newport. Despite being one of Wales’ newest cities, Newport has never really had a good name that I can remember and is known to be a little abrasive to say the least. While millions of pounds have been spend in trying to regenerate the city, it’s still struggling to evolve in to the environment that people want to visit. For reasons unknown to me, I’ve decided to try and find the hidden beauty in this  micro metropolis and display it to the masses… or the readers of my blog.

At this point the project details are fairly sparse and I should really look to set myself some criteria. It’s open ended and have no end date. I currently have no intended outcome. I just need to try and make Newport pretty with only the use of a camera, tripod, lights and maybe a little creative flair. A collection of photographs to show a different side of my local city.

Watch this space. #MakeNewportPretty

Leave a comment